Celebrities for UNICEF

There are many celebrities that either support or are Celebrity Ambassadors for UNICEF

http://storify.com/lexiecargile/celebrities-for-unicef

If it weren’t for my friend, Emiliana, being a huge fan of Alyssa Milano and attending a seminar at the University of North Texas (UNT) in Denton, TX about UNICEF (solely because Alyssa Milano was speaking) it is likely I would have never got involved in the world of volunteering.

Rihanna Campaign for UNICEF

Rihanna Campaign for UNICEF

UNICEF Celebrity Ambassadors and Supporters

I listed and explained why the the three below (Alyssa Milano, Selena Gomez, and Clay Aiken) have inspired me to not only start my work with UNICEF but to continue it, and why I look up to them as role models (thought leaders) for inspiration and motivation to keep going when I feel like giving up or when I fail to see the difference I am making.

Emiliana, Susy, and our sponsor, Pam with Alyssa Milano

Emiliana, Susy, and our sponsor, Pam with Alyssa Milano

 I will always admire Alyssa Milano for impacting me in a way she, or I, may never realize. UNICEF changed my life in the best way possible: it changed how I view the world and everyone in it, it changed my way of thinking, it changed how I decided to go about living. I couldn’t sit back and just be another person in this world not doing anything to make a positive change or a difference, I devoted my life to not only UNICEF, but giving back and volunteering in       general.

I admire Selena Gomez as a UNICEF Celebrity Ambassador because not only is she is my age and it is refreshing to see anyone my age that passionate about giving back, but because she’s a true role model that anyone, (girls and boys/men and women) can look up to. In this society, it is HARD to find a celebrity who has their head on their shoulders and hasn’t lost themselves to fame and everything that comes with it. She stays true to volunteering and giving back in any way that she can and that, to me, is admirable on many counts.

I admire Clay Aiken and his efforts with UNICEF because he is different in every sense of the word. He can reach out to people that many other’s can’t. He is an incredible singer, involved in the theater, a devout Christian, a loving father to his son, Parker, and after “coming out” in 2008 he is publicly gay. He has a huge outreach and fan-base from simply being who he is: an entertainer, religious, a parent, and gay, and the fact that he chooses to use that for the better is something to look up to. He is a member of TEN charities and supports over fourteen causes.

I look up to anyone who will passionately advocate volunteering so I wanted to provide the link to a site (Look To The Stars) that provides information about celebrities who are involved with charities, what charities they are involved in, what causes they support, and the latest news on what charity work they have recently done. Enjoy!

1 thought on “Celebrities for UNICEF

  1. Pingback: Thought Leaders/Volunteers Needed | THE STORIES OF A VOLUNTEER

Leave a comment