Thought Leaders/Volunteers Needed

 

<–With Caryl M. Stern, the President and CEO of UNICEF.

I volunteer for many organizations but UNICEF is the one that truly drives me to do better. Unfortunately, Texas State does not have a UNICEF group and I have not had the chance to stay as involved as I would like to, other than through my brother and his high school UNICEF group back in Dallas. Thanks to the power of social media, I am trying to reach out to students on campus who may be interested in starting one with me sometime after the holiday break. With Texas State having over 35,000 students it is a little overwhelming to do alone. I have reached out to Alyssa Milano, (the reason I got involved in volunteering) and Selena Gomez, one of UNICEF’s youngest celebrity ambassador, who is also around our age, for tips or any motivation to get the ball rolling.

No response yet but stay tuned!

https://twitter.com/LexieCargile/statuses/409828401210327040

I sent out these two tweets to all of my followers in hopes of rallying people to join me. I am anxious to see what I get back.

This is a video explaining what UNICEF Campus Initiative does and what it stands for.

To anyone interested in helping me with this journey PLEASE email me (Lexie.Cargile@aol.com or Lac173@txstate.edu), tweet me (@LexieCargile), or you can find me on Facebook (Lexie Cargile) and shoot me a message.

Be that change, BELIEVE IN ZERO.

UPDATE (December 9, 2013): The UNICEF Campus Initiative twitter retweeted my tweet about starting a UNICEF group at Texas State, and I have received several emails from people interested in joining! Though it’s not HUGE, it’s progress!

1 thought on “Thought Leaders/Volunteers Needed

  1. Pingback: Bittersweet End | THE STORIES OF A VOLUNTEER

Leave a comment